“The Playground of the Mind !”

 

Part of  preparing for being “snowed in” when my family and I lived up in

the North Woods of Wisconsin included a visit to the public library.   We

all stocked up on books, including three-year old Timmy’s favorite, “Mop Top,”

and ten-year-old Pammy’s favorite, “Little House on the Prairie.

Two books I selected were “Beyond Ourselves” by inspirational author, Catherine

Marshall, and “Psycho Cybernetics,” by surgeon Maxwell Maltz.  Both were so good

I didn’t mind a bit when we were snowed in.  A crackling fire in the our

heatilator fireplace, a cup of hot chocolate and the sight of snow falling out the

window set the right mood for my mind-boggling books.

Plastic Surgeon Maxwell Maltz made strong and memorable points . . . these two

quotes can influence many of us as we achieve our goal of holding on to hope.

  • This is where you will  win the battle –in the playground of the mind.”

  •    “Accept yourself as you are!  Otherwise, you will never see opportunity. You will not feel free to move toward it;  you will feel you are not deserving.”

christian playground

 

For years after reading this book, its various strong points crossed my mind.

The other book I read that winter had an equally powerful impact on me.

Author Catherine Marshall became a widow suddenly, when her

husband, Peter,  died of  heart attack.  Writing her first book,  A Man

Called Peter, which later became a motion picture, helped restore her hope.

Then she  began an intense study of  spiritual renewal and wrote the book

Beyond Ourselves.

I am sharing these two books because in the years to come they helped

me get through very difficult times.

Sometimes reading and embracing inspirational material makes the difference in our

ability to hold on to hope…it works for me, and I hope it does for you too!

DM

Author: heresyourhopesite

Published author, mother, grandmother and person who has been through the " dark night in the soul" - I try to make each day a day that I become more grateful for what I have going right in my life instead of falling into the trap of getting hyper-focused on what is wrong... I hope to share some of what has worked for me, and learn how others have managed as well...

6 thoughts on ““The Playground of the Mind !””

    1. Great. Looking forward to reading your posts. Interesting how two totally different books worked so well to keep me clearmined for many years..in fact, the older I get the better I understand my brain.

      Like

  1. Right ere is the perfect blog forr everyone who wants to understand this
    topic. You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that
    I actually would want to…HaHa). You certainly put
    a brand new spin on a topic that’s been written about for decades.
    Wonderful stuff, juzt excellent! http://www.spandex-costume.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

