Time Well Spent?

   As a writer, the older I get, an awareness of limited years to “put in writing”

all those “things” that lurk in my brain, labeled “do before I die” lingers.

Yet, at times, a sense of urgency seems to “paralyze” my creativity.

     Oh, I make lists, of course.  And often even do exactly what they say to do.

But, sometimes I get bogged down revising the lists.   Those are the times I am

frustrated because not enough gets done and another day of my life has ended.

     I do not believe in neglecting a bit of fun in my life.  When weather permits,

swimming laps exhilarates me and then I unwind by reading in the sun.  Yes,

these activities do give me a pleasant feeling of wellbeing.  Attending  a small,

home-based Bible Study is a highlight of my week.

     Many people seem to be able to “retire,”  relax and enjoy life, yet make time to

do meaningful volunteer work.  Now that I think about it, volunteering for

a variety of projects has been very meaningful for all of my adult life.

   For the last seven years,  I have enjoyed leading a talented group  of  writers,

(The Writers of Sica Hall), once a week as a volunteer.

  “Today is the first day of the rest of your life!”   Years ago, that was a popular poster.   It

seems to have become my motto again.   Well,. enough said.  Lists are waiting to be

rewritten.  This is the week I intend to accomplish a lot.

    However, looking back, I now realize how meaningful it has been to volunteer for many

groups, especially years with youth ministry in my church. Those hours will always be far

more important than any of my “to do” lists.

DM

 

 

Author: heresyourhopesite

Published author, mother, grandmother and person who has been through the " dark night in the soul" - I try to make each day a day that I become more grateful for what I have going right in my life instead of falling into the trap of getting hyper-focused on what is wrong... I hope to share some of what has worked for me, and learn how others have managed as well...

Leave a Reply

