Does it Mean Nothing to YOU?

 

When I was a young girl,  my congregation, Grace Lutheran in Elmwood Park, IL,

put up a plain wooden cross every year during Lent. (It was made from our live

Christmas tree.)  A simple sign was nailed across the tall stem.

It read, ”Does it mean nothing to you?”

As a young girl, that question really got me thinking.  In fact, that

question has often crossed my mind during the many years since then.

During each Easter Season, many of us usually are reminded of the great

price Christ paid for us to have peace and eternal life.  We may pause for a

while and spend more time in grateful prayer and Bible Study,    .  .  .

until life resumes its busy pace.  Especially when summer arrives and kids

are out of school.  Sadly, our focus on Jesus may slip into the background.

One of my granddaughters, when she was about 4,  would often say,

” I want to give Jesus a big hug.”  In fact, she even drew a picture of

herself giving Jesus a loving hug.

My point is, many of us, me included, are blessed when we take time all

year long,

to stop and give our Lord and Savior a big hug of gratitude.

 

 

 

 

Author: heresyourhopesite

Published author, mother, grandmother and person who has been through the " dark night in the soul" - I try to make each day a day that I become more grateful for what I have going right in my life instead of falling into the trap of getting hyper-focused on what is wrong... I hope to share some of what has worked for me, and learn how others have managed as well...

Leave a Reply

