Accepting “No” As Answer To A Prayer

This morning was the deadline for an answer to a prayer I have fervently been praying for months.  To the best of my prayer knowledge, I did everything in my power to pray effectively and fervently.  As Martin Luther once said, “Pray as though it all depends on God and work as though it all depends on you.”

Because I sincerely included, “If it is Your Will” in my prayers, I am now faced by the possibility that my sincere and appropriate request was not in God’s Will, even though it involved participating in a great Christian program beginning today.  But, since God knows the beginning from the end, He may be protecting us from a crisis of one sort or another.  Only God knows!   Another possibility is that the individual most directly affected in making the request happen just did not want it to happen.  My idea about individual free will is that we are not puppets and free will choices affect the answers to many of our prayer requests.

Not wanting to allow myself to be extremely distraught or sidetracked, although I am truly very disappointed, I am intentionally searching for my successful acceptance of the “No” answer.  While it is possible a part of the answer could still come about in the next few weeks, it is never possible the main request could now happen, certainly not this year.

Now I am mulling my mind to know how best I should accept this negative answer and move on to other issues.  So very hard, but I know it needs to be done.  Of course, the realization that while my prayer request was very important to three people, it is not a matter of life or death. It does not involve a person terminally ill.  That perspective helps.  But I sense there needs to be a newly-defined goal or purpose in my life.

Well, now that 12 hours have passed since the clear NO answer, the scripture verses telling us to praise God in every situation have been coming to mind.  So that is what I plan to do, after I sign off shortly.  Also,  I decided, beginning tomorrow, to create a rough draft of a children’s book that has been on my “back burner” for awhile.  No time for moping.

d.m.

Author: heresyourhopesite

Published author, mother, grandmother and person who has been through the " dark night in the soul" - I try to make each day a day that I become more grateful for what I have going right in my life instead of falling into the trap of getting hyper-focused on what is wrong... I hope to share some of what has worked for me, and learn how others have managed as well...

Leave a Reply

