Art from the Heart

When my two sons were young, often while I was working on a writing assignment at home, I sat them down to do their own writing assignment.  (After they wrote their story, they could then creatively illustrate it.)  Thankfully, it kept them busy for quite some time.  Then we all had fun hearing them read their “masterpieces”.  I still chuckle, remembering how surprised my oldest son was when he realized that all moms are not writers.  Now days, of course, many more moms are writers on blogs.

Those years sped by too quickly, but did seem to have an impact on all of us. It helped them do well in reading and writing in school, though none of us excelled in  arithmetic.

After our television was struck by lightning, we survived over a year without a new one.  One project I will always remember was their drawing and secretly delivering valentine hearts to elderly neighbors.  Years later, I was at our corner drug store when a really old neighbor lady struck up a conversation with me.

“I still have that sweet Valentine heart your boys made for me,” she smiled as my mind was recapturing the incident.  I was thrilled and couldn’t wait to share her words with my now teenage sons.  They did remember that secret kind act.

animated13

 

dm

 

 

Author: heresyourhopesite

Published author, mother, grandmother and person who has been through the " dark night in the soul" - I try to make each day a day that I become more grateful for what I have going right in my life instead of falling into the trap of getting hyper-focused on what is wrong... I hope to share some of what has worked for me, and learn how others have managed as well...

Leave a Reply

